News Room

Adjust font size: zoom in zoom out email Email Page Print Print

News Room


SINGAPORE (19 January 2004) – Commuters may be pleased to know that the MRT and LRT as well as selected SBS Transit and Tibs buses will be extending their services beyond the usual operating hours and operating special bus services this Lunar New Year's eve (Wednesday, 21 January 2004).

Commuters doing eleventh hour Lunar New Year shopping as well as those planning an outing after their family reunion dinners will be able to enjoy the convenience of using public transport to get around on the eve of this festive occasion.

Transit Link Pte Ltd is pleased to announce the following extended operating hours and special bus services on behalf of the public transport operators:

Train Services

  • SMRT Services

    The last Eastbound train departs Outram Park Station at 2.12am. Passengers travelling Northbound towards Orchard, Ang Mo Kio and beyond should note that the last connecting train at Raffles Place Interchange terminates at Woodlands Station.

    The last Westbound train departs Outram Park Station at 2.12am. Passengers travelling Southbound towards Bukit Batok and Choa Chu Kang stations should note that the last connecting train at Jurong East Interchange terminates at Kranji Station.

    Train service to and from Expo and Changi Airport stations will not be extended and its last train timing remains unchanged.

  • Bukit Panjang LRT Services

    The last LRT train shall leave Choa Chu Kang LRT Station at 3.02am.

    Notices will be put up at the stations to inform the passengers about the extended operating hours.

  • NorthEast Line Services

    The last train to depart from Chinatown Station (both North and Southbound towards Punggol and HarbourFront Stations respectively) is at 2.00am.

  • Sengkang LRT Services

    The last Sengkang LRT train will be extended to depart from Sengkang Transport Centre (STC) at 2.30am.

Bus Services

  • SBS Transit Special Services

    SBS Transit will be operating 12 Special Services to complement the last train arriving at the respective train stations. These Special Services will serve residents in the major housing estates from about 12.30am onwards.

    Services Service Location Departure Time
    22 January 2004
    EW1 Pasir Ris Interchange, Drive 3, Drive 12, Drive 1, (Drive 2), Street 21, Street 41, Drive 6, Drive 3 and Pasir Ris Interchange 1.10am
    EW2 Tampines Interchange (Central 1, 3), Avenue 7, Street 41, Avenue 9, Street 45, Street 34, Street 32, Avenue 2, Avenue 1, Avenue 4, Avenue 3, Avenue 8, (Avenue 5 & 10), Avenue 9, Avenue 6, Avenue 5 and Tampines Interchange 12.50am
    EW5 Bedok Interchange, (Bedok North Drive, North Avenue 1), Bedok South Road, Bedok South Avenue 3, New Upper Changi Road, Bedok North Road, Bedok North Avenue 3, Bedok Reservoir Road, (Jalan Tenaga) and Kaki Bukit Avenue 1 - terminating at opposite Block 150. 1.15am
    EW23 Clementi Interchange, (Clementi Avenue 3), Avenue 4 - U-turn at Block 308, Avenue 5, Avenue 2, West Coast Road, Jalan Buroh, West Coast Highway, (West Coast Link) and West Coast Road - terminating at Block 726 wet market. 12.45am
    EW24 Jurong East Interchange, (East Street 13), Central, Jurong East Avenue 1, Jurong West Avenue 1, Street 41, Street 51, Avenue 1 & Jurong West Street 42 - terminating at Block 415. 1.20am
    EW27 Boon Lay Interchange, (Jurong West Central 3), Street 64, (Avenue 4), Street 72, (Avenue 5), Street 82, Street 81, Avenue 5, (Pioneer Road North), Jurong West Street 91, (Street 93, Upper Jurong Road), Pioneer Road North, West Street 63, (Street 64, Jurong West Central 3) and Boon Lay Interchange. 1.00am
    NE12 Serangoon Interchange, Serangoon Central, (Upper Serangoon Road), Avenue 2, Boundary Road, Yio Chu Kang Link, Yio Chu Kang Road, Serangoon North Avenue 1, Ang Mo Kio Avenue 3, Yio Chu Kang Road, (Serangoon North Avenue 5) and Serangoon North Avenue 4 - terminating at Block 530. 12.35am
    NE13 Upper Serangoon Road (outside Kovan Station), Upper Paya Lebar Road, Lorong Ah Soo, Hougang Avenue 1, Tampines Road, Hougang Avenue 7 and Upper Serangoon Road. 12.40am
    NE14 Hougang Central Interchange, (Hougang Central), Avenue 10, Avenue 8, (Street 52), Street 51, Buangkok Green, Yio Chu Kang Road, Avenue 9, Avenue 4, Avenue 8, Avenue 2, Upper Serangoon Road, (Central) and Hougang Central Interchange. 12.25am
    NE16 Sengkang Interchange, (Sengkang Square), Sengkang East Way, Anchorvale Road, Sengkang East Avenue, Compassvale Road, Compassvale Drive, Punggol Road, Sengkang East Way, (Sengkang Square) and Sengkang Interchange. 12.30am
    NE17 Punggol Interchange, (Punggol Place), Punggol Field, Punggol East, Punggol Central, (Punggol Place) and Punggol Interchange. 12.30am
    NS16 Ang Mo Kio Interchange, Avenue 8, Avenue 3, Avenue 4, Avenue 5, Yio Chu Kang Road, (Ang Mo Kio Avenue 4), Avenue 9, Avenue 6, Avenue 5, Avenue 10, Avenue 3, Avenue 8, and Ang Mo Kio Interchange. 12.45am

  • SBS Transit Nite Owl Services

    SBS Transit Nite Owl services 65M and 174M will be in operation for Lunar New Year's eve. The operating hours is 12 midnight to 4.00 am (from city).

    Services Route of Service
    65M Tanjong Pagar Road (opposite IBM Towers) to Tampines Ave 4

    Marina Centre Terminal to Jurong West St 92

  • Tibs Feeder Services

    Tibs will be extending the operating hours of services 300, 302, 307, 804, 812, 901, 911, 912, 913, 941, 945 and 947 to match the last train timing.

    Bus Interchange Bus Service Departure Time for the Last Bus
    22 January 2004 Morning
    Bukit Batok Interchange 941, 945, 947 3.15am
    Choa Chu Kang Interchange 300, 302, 307 3.10am
    Woodlands Regional Interchange 901, 911, 912, 913 3.05am
    Yishun Interchange 804, 812 3.10am

    Posters on the extension hours of these services will also be displayed at the respective Tibs bus interchanges to keep the residents informed.

  • Tibs NightRider

    Tibs NightRider Services, NR1, NR5 & NR7 will operate on 21 to 23 January 2004 (Lunar New Year's eve, first and second day of the Lunar New Year) with a headway of 45 minutes to one hour. The first and last bus will depart from Marina Centre at 11:30 pm and 3:30 am respectively.

    NR1 Yishun to Marina Centre via Ang Mo Kio and Bishan
    11.30pm to 3.30am the next morning
    NR5 Marina Centre to Jurong West
    11.30pm to 4.30am the next morning
    NR7 Marina Centre to Tampines and Pasir Ris
    11.35pm to 4.35am the next morning

Issued by Transit Link Pte Ltd
TransitLink is a service company set up by SBS Transit Ltd, SMRT Trains Ltd and SMRT Buses Ltd to provide an integrated public transport system by bringing the MRT, LRT and buses together as one single, comprehensive network.